Pre-bidding gives you the opportunity to set a max bid price you’d like to pay for any item before the listing goes live. Once the auction starts, we will place bids on your behalf up to your Max Bid that you set. (Learn more about Max bid here) This means if you're unable to attend the auction, you still can set bids on items you really want to win.
How to place a Pre-bid?
When viewing the item details, you’ll see a button to place a pre-bid.
You’re given the option for the max amount you’d like to spend on that item.
Once you save, your Pre-bid is set, the item is added to favorites, and you can or delete this pre-bid from the item details page, favorites page or pre-bids page any time before the auction goes live.
How early can I place a Pre-bid?
You can place a pre-bid on any eligible item as soon as the seller creates the upcoming auction listing, even if the auction is days or weeks away, up until the time the auction goes live.
Can I edit or cancel my Pre-bid?
You can delete or change your pre-bids any time before the auction goes live.
How do I pay for an item that I won in the auction that I didn't attend?
Since we now have a pre-bidding set, this means you might win items in an auction but not be able to check out right away. We automatically check out for you 1 hour after the auction ends. We will use your default shipping and default credit card on file, so make sure it's set to the place you'd like to ship your order. Learn more about: How do I pay for the items I’ve won?